The best red light therapy bed for a business depends on three things: the claims you want to make, the power you can bring to the room, and your budget. If you need an FDA clearance for pain-related marketing, look at LightStim. If you want a premium pod with every feature, look at TheraLight 360i or Prism. If you want full-body commercial output for under $30,000, look at MitoRECHARGE, Vital Bed or our own Superhuman Light R1.
How we ranked the beds
Most “best bed” lists are written by a seller who puts its own bed at the top. We tried to avoid that. These are the rules we used.
- Full-body beds only. A guest lies down and is treated front and back, or the bed has a top and bottom array. Flexible pads and mats are listed separately.
- Sold to businesses. The maker or an authorized dealer markets the bed for commercial use.
- Public price or “quote only”. We list a price only when the maker or an authorized dealer publishes it. We do not guess.
- Maker’s own numbers. Irradiance and wavelengths are as published. We note the measurement distance because it changes the number a lot.
- Regulatory wording as stated. We repeat what the maker says (“cleared”, “registered”, “Class II”). We explain the difference in our medical grade guide.
We picked a “best for” use case for each bed rather than one overall winner. A tanning salon and a sports clinic do not need the same machine.
Quick comparison
| Bed | Best for | Public price | Wavelengths (nm) | Power | Regulatory wording |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LightStim LED Bed | Cleared pain claims, standard outlet | $55,000 | 630, 660, 855, 940 | 100–240 V, standard outlet | FDA cleared (pain, circulation) |
| NovoTHOR | Sports and clinical recovery | Quote only | 660, 850 | 220–240 V, 13 A, 2.4 kW | Cleared or approved in 30+ countries (maker) |
| TheraLight 360i | Premium feature set | $94,997 (dealer) | 633, 810, 850, 940 | 220 V, 30 A | “Class I & II” registered (dealer) |
| Prism Light Pod | Premium pod on 110 V | $95,995 (dealer) | 630, 660, 850 | 110 V (220 V intl) | Not stated on product page |
| Spectra S7 | Many wavelengths, premium tier | From $64,990 | 630–980 (7 bands) | Not published | “FDA Class II Cleared” (maker, brand-wide) |
| MitoRECHARGE Bed | Entry commercial on 110 V | $27,995 | 630, 660, 810, 850 | 110/120 V, 20 A | Class II FDA registration |
| Vital Bed | Budget multi-wavelength | $24,995 | 480–1060 (9 bands) | 2 × 1,350 W | “FDA Cleared” (maker) |
| Superhuman Light R1 | Throughput on a 40 A circuit | $29,900 | 630, 660, 810, 850, 940 | 208–240 V, 40 A, ≈5.5 kW | Docs supplied with quote |
Prices were checked in September 2026 and change often. Always get a written quote.
Best for FDA-cleared pain claims: LightStim LED Bed
LightStim is based in Irvine, California. It sells two versions of its LED Bed. The Core has 14,400 LEDs and the Pro has 18,000. Both are listed at $55,000 on LightStim’s site. The Pro is the one LightStim positions for high-volume commercial use, with a 5-year warranty.
LightStim says the bed is FDA cleared “for muscle and joint pain, arthritic pain and stiffness, muscles spasm and increasing blood circulation.” That matters if you want to use those words in your marketing. It uses four wavelengths: 630, 660, 855 and 940 nm. It runs on 100–240 V from a standard US outlet, which makes installation simple.
The trade-off: LightStim recommends 20 minutes per body side. If a guest turns over, a full session takes longer, which lowers the number of guests you can serve per hour. Palm Beach Tan, a large US tanning chain, offers LightStim Bed sessions at select locations, which shows the bed works in a salon setting.
Best for sports and clinical recovery: NovoTHOR
NovoTHOR is made by THOR Photomedicine, a UK company with US operations. It uses two wavelengths, 660 nm red and 850 nm near-infrared, which you can switch between red only and mixed. The standard model is 210 cm (82.7 in) long and weighs 211.5 kg (466 lb). It draws 2,400 W at 220–240 V, 13 A max. An XL version is 238 cm long.
THOR states the device is “approved or cleared as a medical device in over 30 countries” and gives an intended use covering temporary relief of minor muscle and joint pain. It includes a 5-year warranty. NovoTHOR does not publish a price, so it is quote only.
Choose it if your guests are athletes or patients and you want a brand with a long history in that market. Plan for a 220–240 V supply.
Best premium feature set: TheraLight 360i
TheraLight beds are sold by Aspen in the US. There are three models: the 360i (flagship), the 360 and the FIT (a compact option). TheraLight says they are the only full-body beds with four independently controlled wavelengths: 633, 810, 850 and 940 nm. Pulse settings run from 1 to 5,000 Hz.
An authorized dealer lists the 360i at $94,997 with 45,000 LEDs, 165 mW/cm² irradiance and built-in PEMF. It needs 220 V on a 30 A circuit. The dealer lists FDA registration as “Class I & II” and a 5-year warranty with lifetime LED replacement.
Choose it if you are a clinic or longevity center that wants the most controls in the room and your pricing can support a near-$95,000 asset.
Best premium pod on a standard outlet: Prism Light Pod
Prism Light Pod is based in Englewood, Colorado. The pod has more than 17,000 LEDs at 630, 660 and 850 nm, with 100 mW/cm² irradiance and 15-minute automated sessions. Prism says it runs on a standard 110 V outlet (220 V international), which is rare for a premium pod.
An authorized retailer lists it at $95,995 and states that delivery, installation and training cost an extra $10,000, with an 8–10 week lead time and a 1-year limited warranty. The Prism product page we checked does not state an FDA status, so ask for it in writing.
Choose it if you want a premium pod but cannot add a 220–240 V circuit.
Many wavelengths at the premium tier: Spectra S7
Spectra Red Light is a US company that sells several bed series. The S7 uses seven wavelengths: 630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850 and 980 nm. Spectra lists it “from $64,990”. It also publishes irradiance of 28–32 mW/cm² measured at 0 inches with a lab spectrometer, which is an honest measurement method but gives a lower number than solar-meter readings from other brands.
Spectra describes its range as “FDA Class II Cleared”. The S7 page does not state which indication, so ask for the 510(k) number.
Best entry commercial bed on 110 V: MitoRECHARGE Bed
Mito Red Light is based in Scottsdale, Arizona. Its business line sells the MitoRECHARGE Bed at $27,995. It has 4,200 LEDs split evenly across 630, 660, 810 and 850 nm. Mito publishes irradiance for each half: 95 mW/cm² at 18 inches for the top and 90 mW/cm² at 0 inches for the bottom.
It runs on one 20 A, 110/120 V outlet or two separate 15 A outlets. Mito states a 3-year warranty and “Class II FDA registration”. Registration is not the same as clearance.
Best budget multi-wavelength bed: Vital Bed
Vital Red Light is based in Boca Raton, Florida. The Vital Bed is a top panel over a bed, at $24,995. It uses nine wavelengths: 480, 590, 630, 660, 670, 810, 830, 850 and 1060 nm, from 2,000 LEDs. Vital states 150–210 mW/cm² at a treatment distance of 16–24 inches.
Vital markets it to gyms, spas, med spas, chiropractors and clinics, with business financing and a 5-year warranty. Its site displays “FDA Cleared”. Ask for the clearance number and indication.
Where the Superhuman Light R1 fits
The Superhuman Light R1 is a clamshell bed at $29,900, or about $620 a month on a 60-month lease (OAC). Here is how it compares on the same inputs.
- Wavelengths: five, at 630, 660, 810, 850 and 940 nm, from about 36,000 LEDs.
- Irradiance: about 100 mW/cm² at the acrylic surface. An independent measurement is supplied with the quote.
- Coverage: front and back at once, so no turning over. Sessions run 10–20 minutes and one bed serves up to 3 guests an hour.
- Power: 208–240 V single-phase, dedicated 40 A circuit, about 5.5 kW. That is more than most beds here, so budget for an electrician.
- Included: delivery, installation, commissioning, half-day training, eyewear and a 2-year parts and labour warranty.
- Regulatory: we do not claim FDA clearance for the R1. Regulatory and electrical documentation comes with the written quote.
If your priority is FDA-cleared pain marketing, LightStim is the clearer choice. If you want high throughput per dollar and can wire a 40 A circuit, the R1 is built for that. See our cost guide and ROI guide for the numbers.
Superhuman Light R1
Full-body red light, built for a full day of bookings.
- Format
- Full-body bed
- Wavelengths
- 5 · 630–940 nm
- Session
- 10–20 min
- Power
- 240 V · 40 A
Full-body alternatives that are not beds
Two products often appear in “best bed” lists but are not beds.
- Celluma DELUX and DELUX XL. Flexible full-body LED pads that drape over the body. Celluma says the S2 versions are FDA cleared for body contouring, acne, aging skin and pain, using 465, 640 and 880 nm. They are lighter and cheaper than a bed but treat one side at a time.
- MitoPOD. A $1,699 foldable full-body mat from Mito Red Light, rated 30 mW/cm² at the surface. It is sold for home use.
They can work as an add-on in a treatment room. They are not a replacement for a commercial bed on a busy schedule.
How to choose between them
- Decide your claims first. If you want to say “relieves minor muscle and joint pain”, buy a bed cleared for that indication and check the 510(k) in the FDA database.
- Check your electrical panel. A 110 V bed can go in almost any room. A 30–40 A, 240 V bed needs an electrician. Our installation page covers the basics.
- Do the per-session math. A $95,000 bed and a $30,000 bed both sell $40–100 sessions. The cheaper bed pays back faster at the same volume.
- Ask for an independent irradiance report with the distance stated. Compare numbers at the same distance, measured the same way. Our brands guide explains how.
- Read the warranty. Terms here range from 1 year to 5 years plus lifetime LEDs.
Sources
- LightStim LED Bed: https://lightstim.com/products/lightstim-led-bed
- Palm Beach Tan, LightStim: https://palmbeachtan.com/wellness/lightstim
- NovoTHOR home: https://www.novothor.com/
- NovoTHOR technology and specs: https://www.novothor.com/technology/
- TheraLight (Aspen): https://aspenlivewell.com/theralight/
- TheraLight 360i, authorized dealer listing: https://davincimedicalusa.com/products/theralight-360i-whole-body-red-light-therapy-bed
- Prism Light Pod: https://prismlightpod.com/prism-light-pod/
- Prism Light Pod, retailer listing: https://www.rehabmart.com/product/prism-light-pod-red-light-therapy-bed-51726.html
- Spectra Red Light: https://www.spectraredlight.com/
- Spectra S7 Series: https://www.spectraredlight.com/spectra-s7-series/
- MitoRECHARGE Bed: https://mitoredforbusiness.com/products/mitoredlightbed
- MitoPOD: https://mitoredlight.com/products/mito-red-light-therapy-pod
- Vital Bed: https://vitalredlight.com/products/vital-bed
- Celluma DELUX: https://www.celluma.com/products/celluma-delux
- FDA 510(k) database: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/cdrh/cfdocs/cfpmn/pmn.cfm


